Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Stir : my broken brain and the meals that brought me home / Jessica Fechtor.

Fechtor, Jessica. (Author).

Available copies

  • 8 of 8 copies available at Bibliomation. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Deep River Public Library.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Deep River Public Library B Fechtor (Text to phone) 36039150630073 Adult Biography Available -

Record details

Content descriptions

Formatted Contents Note:
Please buy an oven thermometer (some thoughts on cooking from this book) -- The Pit -- A Cake -- Marcella's Butter Almond Cake -- Passing Through -- At the Table -- Eli's Oatmeal Cookies -- Patient -- Z-i-t-i -- Saucy Baked Ziti -- The Moon Out of the Sky -- Pan-Roasted Salmon -- Just in Case -- Kale and Pomegranate Salad -- A Home Run -- Sweet and Clear Chicken Soup -- The Most Beautiful Things -- Sarah's Cholent with Kugel -- Riptide -- Plotting, Together -- Cream of Asparagus Soup -- The Everywhere Light -- Crispy Rice and Eggs -- Everything Happens -- Becoming Home -- Hi-Rise Almond Macaroons -- The Most We Could Do -- Badass -- Roasted Chicken -- A Certain Kind of Best -- Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies -- Medium Dreadful -- Three Mushrooms -- Lemony Pasta with Morel Mushrooms and Peas -- Home Is a Verb -- Amy's Potato Salad -- Doing the Math -- Louise's Apple Pie -- They Cooked -- Sweet Potato Curry Latkes -- Food Blog -- Buttermilk Biscuits -- The All Clear -- Julia's Sesame Noodles -- More Than Enough -- Cleveland Cassata Cake (Strawberry Custard Layer Cake) -- Time-In -- Cherry Clafoutis -- Humpty Dumpty Day -- Whole Wheat Banana Bread -- Luxury Head -- Five-Fold Challah -- Don't Look -- Simplest Tomato Soup -- Brown Soda Bread -- A Funny Definition -- Janet's Coconut Cake -- Move Along Now -- Baked Apricots with Cardamom Pistachios -- Any Day -- Italian Prune Plum Tart.
Summary, etc.:
"M.F.K. Fisher meets Brain on Fire in this exquisite memoir of a 28-year-old food blogger who cooks her way back to health after a near-fatal aneurysm Jessica Fechtor was on top of the world: a Harvard graduate student, happily married, and thinking about starting a family. Then, while attending an academic conference, she went for a run and an aneurysm burst in her brain. Multiple surgeries left her skull startlingly deformed. She lost her sense of smell, the sight in her left eye, and her confidence about who she was and what mattered. Jessica's journey to recovery began in the kitchen as soon as she was strong enough to stand at the stovetop and stir. There, she learned about the restorative powers of kneading, salting, and sifting, that food had something to tell her, and that it felt good to listen. For readers of Molly Wizenberg, Tamar Adler, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, as well as Oliver Sacks and Jill Bolte Taylor, Stir is a memoir (with recipes) of what it means to fix what's broken and live with what can't be fixed, to nourish and be nourished, to remember what it is to be hungry, honor that hunger, and learn how to feed it"-- Provided by publisher.
"After suffering a brain aneurysm and a life-threatening infection, Jessica Fechtor set about cooking and baking to pull herself back together again, fixing what was broken, and living with what couldn't be fixed"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Fechtor, Jessica > Health.
Intracranial aneurysms > Patients > United States > Biography.
Intracranial aneurysms > Patients > Rehabilitation > United States.
Cooking > Therapeutic use.
Genre: Cookbooks.
Cookbooks.

Additional Resources